It was voted in October, 1850, that “the inhabitants of the village may grade, fence, and otherwise ornament the common.” The granite fence posts were taken from a Lebanon quarry and the ornamental fence sections were iron castings from a Lebanon foundry. (F-8)
Tilden Female Seminary, Seminary Hill, West Lebanon, was a four-story brick school for young ladies. It attracted girls from a widespread area in an era when higher education for women was not common. After nearly 50 years, Tilden Seminary was closed. (G-2)
Henry W. Carter, Lebanon merchant in 1859, was widely known for his gaily-painted wagons and handsome four-horse teams. Merchandising led to manufacturing, and H. W. Carter & Sons’ clothing factory stands as a memorial to the “Prince of Yankee Pedlars.” (F-8)
Albyron Hough of Lebanon organized Hough’s Cornet Band in 1859, the first brass band in town. For 25 years, it ranked as one of the leading bands in New England, and once played before Queen Victoria at the Crystal Palace in Montreal.